Honda Ridgeline Owners Club Forums banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have wailed and nashed teeth about this for 2 months! One day I want a Ridgeline, one day I don't. Here are the pros and cons for me:

Pro: I'm a Realtor. I need something that will seat 4 and still allow me to haul signs and such outside the vehicle.

Pro: It weighs 6050 lbs. Anything over 6000 is considered a commercial vehicle by Uncle Sam. Long story short - if I buy this, I could potentially save $10,000 in taxes next year. No, really.

Pro: Its a Honda 'nuff said

Con: It gets half the gas mileage of my sedan. At 30,000 miles a year, thats a killer.

Con: I'm paying $35,000 for a work vehicle. Ouch.

Con: This might sound snobby - but it is true. If I drive a Hyundai for a year, and a Mercedes for a year, I sell about 20% more the second year. I have always owned 60,000 mile + luxury cars and paid about $15,000 each because it made smart business sense. I am just wondering if this Honda looks too plain.

HOWEVER! I just found the first trim kit place that supports the Ridgeline, and I think this will end up being the thing that swings me over.

http://www.bdtrims.com/dash-kits.ph...71&PHPSESSID=b2dc71fa12420f2d842cf54bdda8abd7

Any thoughts on this?

·
Premium Member
5,392 Posts
I love the look of the OEM trim kit, but don't want to pay that price. This trim kit gives you more for much less money. I'm interested, but I want to see a photo of the Ridgeline dash with trim first.

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
The weight limit applies to the GVWR. Honda may have been smart enough to figure out people would get this deduction.

This was set up to encourage business owners to buy new delivery vehicles, thus spark the economy. Because of the weight, I can literally deduct $25,000 off of my income if I buy this vehicle and use it for my business.

Based on this year, that reduces my taxes by $9400.