Honda Ridgeline Owners Club Forums banner

1 - 20 of 75 Posts

·
Registered
926 Posts
Light in Trunk

Got this two days ago from Amazon B01C8BQYFS, a waterproof rechargeable motion-sensing LED light. Came with two-sided 3M adhesive and some screws to use if desired. I used the 3M as a quick install, may get shorter screws and have a more solid placement although the 3M seems to work fine. Seems like a good deal.

·
Super Moderator
2006 Ridgeline RTS in Steel Blue
7,331 Posts
Re: Light in Trunk

That looks like a great part for both 1G & 2G owners.

Let us know how often you end up charging it

Nice find

·
Premium Member
2,176 Posts

Great idea! I have some experience with motion sensing LED lights and they work great, it never occurred to me to put one in the RL trunk.

Shortly after moving into our home, I replaced the flimsy mailbox on a post with a large, locking mailbox with a 'trap door'. I bought the mailbox below, brick to match our house and paid a bricklayer to build a substantial mailbox.

https://smile.amazon.com/Architectu...id=1482588611&sr=1-3&keywords=locking+mailbox

The only problem is I can't see into the mailbox at night when I get home and retrieve the mail, so a year ago I bought one of these motion sensing lights and stuck it in the mailbox with industrial velcro.

https://smile.amazon.com/Mr-Beams-M...sr=1-14&keywords=mr+beams+motion+sensor+light

It works great and the batteries last over a year.

·
Registered
926 Posts
Discussion Starter #5

It arrived with a charge, maybe I should charge it to make sure it's full before I see how long it really lasts...

I'll keep you guys updated

·
Registered
471 Posts

Curious, do all versions of the Ridgeline have the 2 side lights in the bed that illuminate when the trunk is open? In my RTL-E I was delightfully surprised at how well I could see inside the trunk at night with these lights and thus far had not considered adding additional lighting.

·
Registered
926 Posts
Discussion Starter #9