Honda Ridgeline Owners Club Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys,

First time caller - long time listener.

I've been pushing my 06 RTL with 215k for the last 6 months and love it. I came from a world of Jeep Wranglers, and never plan on looking back. I've slowly been updating everything to try and maximize my lifespan. What other fluids are recommended?

I've done:
  • oil,
  • drain and fill tranny 3x,
  • coolant flush (with new timing belt),
  • I haven't done diff fluid, but i plan to soon.
  • ???
Let me know what you guys think and i'll add it to the list!

Thanks!

·
Registered
2,791 Posts
Read up on SMOD and you will understand why the radiator should be replaced (if it hasn't already).
When you did the transmission did you replace the front differential fluid? That's usually done on the same interval as the transmission fluid.
Definitely replace the rear diff fluid (Honda VTM4)
Replace the brake fluid
Replace the power steering fluid
Do you know the history of timing belt changes? (EDIT, I see you say you just did your timing belt) Its due pretty much every 105K miles so you are due for the second belt. Tensioners, water pump and serp belt too.
Have you done the valve clearances and spark plugs? Those are also due on the 105k interval.
Agree that shocks and struts are probably close to shot at 215k miles.
Look at your axles
Look at your motor mounts
Look at your ball joints, tie rod ends, control arm bushings, sway bar bushings and end links.
Make sure the water drains on the bottoms of the doors are clear. Make sure the "gutter" around the trunk is clear (including its drain holes)
Make sure that the pins that the calipers float on properly lubed
There's more, but that's a good start

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Read up on SMOD and you will understand why the radiator should be replaced (if it hasn't already).