Honda Ridgeline Owners Club Forums banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I notice a shaking in the steering wheel and front end when I go from 60MPH and higher.
I replaced the wheels and tires from Tire Direct, which came pre balanced. I did a front end replacement of the lower control arms, the CV axles and boots, did the brake pads on all four wheels, had the alignment done and they checked the balance on the tires. What else am I missing here?Lug nuts and axle nuts are tightened to spec. Regularly rotate tires.

I keep all my fluids changed as recommended. This vehicle has 180K miles on it and has given me good service with a minimum amount of issues.

·
Registered
2,010 Posts
What brand tires did you buy? I was a tech for two decades. Even with new tires, I've had to do "road-force" balancing at times to completely eliminate vibration. Find a tire shop that offers road-force balancing to make certain that it isn't a balance issue. If the road force balancing detects an issue, I'd contact Tires Direct and have them pay for it. Actually, I would call them prior to taking it in and explain your problem.

·
Registered
2014 Sport
3,259 Posts
Did the shaking start before or after the new wheels / tires??
If after then I think you have issues with your new tire / wheel package. If before and you are still having issues . . .Maybe tie rods?

·
Super Moderator
2008 Ridgeline RTS in Billet Silver Metallic
23,584 Posts
Did the shaking start after the axles were replaced? Aftermarket axles have been problematic for the Ridgeline. Use OEM axles.

·
Registered
646 Posts