Honda Ridgeline Owners Club Forums banner

1 - 20 of 321 Posts

·
Registered
1,556 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello ladies and gents I was just wondering if anyone is into mountain biking? I am looking to purchase a bike this weekend and boy they can get pricey. I am thinking about purchasing a GIANT full suspension all terrain bike, it will go good with the ridgeline. I was just curious as to if anyone can give me some pointers, when I hopefully purchase one this weekend for the wife and I. What is the essential GEAR I should purchase with it (of course I know a helmet and shoes)? I looked in many magazines and online but it gets very tedious wondering what is good.....? I appreciate all of your help in this one:D .

·
Registered
2,221 Posts
I ride about 1200 miles of trails (with a little road) a year. I have been riding for about 15 years. I am 6'4" and weigh 150 lb. I now ride a hard tail F4 Cannondale. I rode a Specialized FSR full suspension for 12 years. My question is: How good a rider are you and where will you primarily ride? Single track or dirt roads? Drop in riding or downhill? Hard core or weekend rails to trails stuff? Once I know a little I'll let you know what I would buy if I were you. And lastly, are you made of money or are you sorta limited like the rest of us?

·
Registered
2,009 Posts
NICE....It does gets pricey, it just all depends to what type of moutainbiking you think you will be doing? Cross country, single track, down hill on or off pavement. Do you think you will be doing alot of climbing uphill etc.

1st things first is for you and the wife got to the nearest LBS (local bike shop) and get measured to what Mt. Bike that fits you. Then, to what I've mentioned above, what type of riding you and the wife will be doing.